Celebrating 25 years, 1995 - 2020

Dillon Moltz Takes Down Win in BFR Chassis Late Model at Stafford Motor Speedway

Ryan Posocco Takes 2nd, Corey Hutchings rebounds with 4th place finish




For Immediate Release
Contact: Scott Running
May 13
, 2011

(Stafford Springs, CT)---Stafford Speedway was back on track with a 5-division NASCAR Whelen All-American Series event on Friday night, May 13th. Ted Christopher picked up his first win of the 2011 season with a dominating performance in the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Dillon Moltz was the winner of the 30-lap Late Model feature, Tommy Barrett, Jr. was the winner of the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature, George Nocera, Jr. became the first repeat feature winner of the 2011 season with a victory in the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature, and Andrew Hayes drove to victory in the 15-lap DARE Stock feature.

In the 40-lap SK Modified® feature event, Nichole Morgillo and Brad Hietala were locked in a side by side duel for the lead over the first two laps. The two cars touched wheels and Morgillo and several cars behind her spun and brought the caution out. Hietala took the lead on the restart, but Ted Christopher was on a mission and he quickly moved into second on lap-4 and then he took the lead from Hietala on lap-6.

After a second caution period slowed the action with 8 laps complete, Christopher took the lead on the restart and began to set sail from the rest of the competition. Christopher opened up a large lead under green flag conditions and the race ran caution free for the remainder of the race and Christopher was never seriously challenged as he recorded his first win of the 2011 season, which was his 93rd career SK Modified® feature victory and 110th overall feature victory at Stafford. Woody Pitkat finished second, with Ryan Preece, last week's winner Keith Rocco, and Dan Avery rounding out the top-5.

In the 30-lap Late Model feature event, Tony Lafo led the field to green and he took the early race lead. Lafo led the first four laps before Dillon Moltz streaked into the lead on lap-5. Moltz started 6th and he was in 2nd place on lap-2. J.J. Hill followed Moltz by Lafo. Scott Cook and Lafo made contact with Lafo spinning into the turn 3 wall to bring the caution out.

Moltz took the lead back under green with Hill, Corey Hutchings, Ryan Posocco, and Mark St. Hilaire behind him. Just as Christopher pulled away from the field, Moltz looked like he was on cruise control as he opened up a comfortable lead for himself. Posocco moved past Hutchings for third and he slowly began to reel Hill in for second. Posocco was able to get by Hill for second on lap-28, but it was all Moltz as he picked up his first feature win of the 2011 season. Hutchings and Jim Mavlouganes rounded out the top-5 behind Moltz, Posocco, and Hill.

In the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature event, Kyle Spencer took the early race lead with Steve Greer and Shayne Prucker dueling for second place. Joey Cipriano was on the charge and he moved into second behind Spencer on lap-4. The caution came out with 8 laps complete for a spin by Mike Parolo. Spencer had a piece of sheet metal hanging from the rear of his car after contact from Cipriano and he was black flagged. This put Cipriano and Tommy Barrett, Jr. on the front row for the restart.

Barrett and Cipriano dueled side by side for the lead for several laps before Barrett cleared Cipriano and took over the lead position. Cipriano spun on lap-15 to bring the caution out and set up a 5-lap dash to the finish. Barrett again took the lead, but the caution came back out with 17 laps complete for a three-car spin involving Dylan Liseo, Victoria Bergenty, and Parolo.

Barrett charged back to the lead back under green and he went unchallenged to the checkered flag as he picked up his first win of the 2011 season after leading the division with 10 wins last season. Prucker finished second, with Tommy Membrino, Jr., Greer, and Frank Cardile rounding out the top-5.

In the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature event, Duane Provost took the early lead and he quickly pulled away from the field and opened up a comfortable lead. Shawn Thibeault moved into second place and he spent the next several laps running Provost down. He caught up to Provost on lap-9 and he made a move for the lead on lap-10. Thibeault's move allowed George Nocera, Jr. to follow Thibeault past Provost into second. Nocera instantly made a move to the inside of Thibeault and the two raced side by side for several laps before Nocera was able to take the lead on lap-13. From there, Nocera was able to hold Thibeault off over the final 7 laps and became the first repeat feature winner of the 2011 season at Stafford Motor Speedway. Rounding out the top-5 was Norm Sears, Provost, and Kevin Gambacorta.

In the 15-lap DARE Stock feature event, Joe McAllister took the lead at the green flag, but he spun in turn 4 to bring out the caution before a lap could be completed. Albert Saunders led the first lap back under green, but Nick Salva moved to the front of the field on lap-2.

The caution came back out with 3 laps complete and on the restart, Saunders went back by Salva to retake the lead. Salva came right back and went back by Saunders to take the lead when the caution came out with 6 laps complete. Salva took the lead back under green, but Saunders would move back to the front on lap-8. Salava's great night came to a halt with 9 laps complete when he spun with Brandon Michael in turn 2 to bring the caution back out.

Saunders took the lead with Don Wood and Andrew Hayes right behind him as the race resumed. With one more caution slowing the field on lap-12, Hayes moved into second on the lap-13 restart and he took the lead from Saunders on lap-14. Wood followed Hayes by Saunders, but he couldn't get by Hayes, who scored the feature victory. Josh Wood came home in third, with Saunders and David Arute rounding out the top-5.

For more information contact the Stafford Motor Speedway track office at (860) 684-2783, or visit us on the web at www.staffordspeedway.com.