Celebrating 25 years, 1995 - 2020

BFR Ends 2010 Season with Four Victories at Thompson World Series

Brian Sullivan, Mike O'Sullivan, Tommy O'Sullivan and Rick Fuller Take Checkers

The 37th Annual World Series of Speedway Racing officially got underway on Saturday Night at Thompson International Speedway.

Brian Sullivan of S. Windsor, CT, scored a commanding victory in the TIS Modified main event. Sullivan started on the point in the feature event and immediately put some distance between himself and the rest of the pack. Studley ran in second; ahead of a heated battle between Keith McDermott and Glenn Boss. Once free of Boss, McDermott went to work on Studley for second.

 McDermott got out of shape in his pursuit of the second spot giving Boss the opening he needed to retake third. Up front, Sullivan cruised as Studley enjoyed the battle for third. McDermott spent the remainder of the event chasing Boss. At the checkers, it was all Sullivan; taking a convincing victory of Studley, Boss, McDermott and Ryan Morgan.

There was a big celebration in victory lane after Mike O’Sullivan of Springfield, MA, scored a popular victory in the Outlaw Street Stocks. It was full contact racing at the start of the Outlaw Streets Stocks. When things shook out it was Sean Foster leading the pack. A lap four restart opened the door for Thompson Pro Stock regular Michael O’Sullivan, who rocketed into the lead. Contact between Tommy O’Sullivan and Paul Newcomb as they battled for the lead ended with Newcomb in the wall in turn two. T. O’Sullivan was penalized to the rear of the field for his involvement.

 Foster grabbed back the lead briefly on the restart before giving up the lead once again to M. O’Sullivan. With O’Sullivan in command, Foster took chase followed by Shawn Thibeault and Dana Flannery. T. O’Sullivan had worked his way back into the top-five by lap 10. During a long green flag run, the distance began to shrink between Foster and Thibeault. T. O’Sullivan likewise had cut into the advantage of Flannery for fourth. On the final lap, Foster poured it on getting up to the back bumper of M. O’Sullivan. Foster ran out of time and had to settle for second behind the winner M. O’Sullivan. Thibeault held on for third followed by Flannery and T. O’Sullivan.

TIS Modifieds (Top Ten) Feature Finish: 1. Brian Sullivan, S. Windsor, CT; (BFR) 2. John Studley, Framingham, MA; 3. Glenn Boss, Danielson, CT; 4. Keith McDermott, Scituate, RI; 5. Ryan Morgan, Mystic, CT; 6. R.J. Marcotte, Millville, MA; 7. Brian Tagg, Oxford, CT; 8. Wanderson Oliveira, Raynham, MA; 9. John-Michael Shenette, Thompson, CT; 10. Denis Legere, N. Reading, MA.

Outlaw Street Stocks (Top Ten) Feature Finish: 1. Mike O’Sullivan, Springfield, MA; (BFR) 2. Sean Foster, Ellington, CT;(BFR)  3. Shawn Thibeault, Plainville, CT; 4. Dana Flannery, Ellington, CT; 5. Tommy O’Sullivan, Springfield, MA; 6. Ryan Lineman, Coventry, RI; 7. Paul Newcomb, Plymouth, MA; 8. Leslie Keyser, Northfield, NH; 9. Keith Minchella, Springfield, MA; 10. Josh King, Vernon, VT.

On Sunday:

Rick Fuller of Auburn, MA, wired the field to score a popular victory in the Super Late Models. Fuller set the pace in the early going as the Super Late Models had a time getting going suffering early race cautions. Fuller continued to lead through a pair of restarts as pole sitter Jim Banfield took chase in second. Both Derek Ramstrom and Larry Gelinas were making tracks to the front. Ramstrom had worked his way into third with Gelinas in tow. Gelinas stepped out of line to begin to apply pressure to Ramstrom. Mike O’Sullivan ran alone in the fifth position.

 During an extended green flag run, the top four of Fuller, Banfield, Ramstrom and Gelinas ran nose-to-tail.  At halfway, it was Ramstrom who began to apply pressure to Banfield for second. The battle cooled when a caution flew on lap 17 for a spin by Chris Perley. On the ensuing restart, Larry Gelinas looked like he was shot out of a cannon motoring from fourth to second.  With Fuller still in command, Gelinas and Ramstrom were locked in a heated battle for second.  Banfield had his hands full with O’Sullivan.

 The top three of Fuller in his BFR Chassis Prepared Super Late Model, Gelinas, and Ramstrom broke away from the rest of the field during the stretch green flag run. In the closing stages, Ramstrom peeked to the inside of Gelinas for second but could not muster up a potent challenge. Fuller went on to score the victory followed by Gelinas and Ramstrom. Banfield held on for fourth over O’Sullivan inside the top-five.

 Tommy O’Sullivan of Springfield, MA, took down a commanding victory in a caution-free event for the Late Models. The Thompson regular O’Sullivan jumped out to the early lead in the Late Model main event. Ryan Posocco lurked within striking distance in second.  Woody Pitkat ran a distance back in third.  Corey Hutchings, Damon Tinio, Jeremy Sadowski, and John Falconi ran in a tight pack vying for position in the tail end of the top-five. At lap 10, Falconi headed to pit road ending his bid at a top-finish.

 It was an uneventful chase to the checkers for O’Sullivan as the field got strung out around the speedway.  O’Sullivan cruised to the victory over Posocco. Pitkat’s car faltered as he entered turn four on the final lap. He had worked out to a sizeable advantage during the event.  The margin allowed him to retain the third position at the checkers with Hutchings and Tinio bearing down. Divisional champion Rick Gentes failed to take the green in the event.

Super Late Model (Top Ten) Feature Finish: 1. Rick Fuller, Auburn, MA; 2. Larry Gelinas, Buxton, ME; 3. Derek Ramstrom, Worcester, MA; 4. Jim Banfield, S. Glastonbury, CT; 5. Mike O’Sullivan, Springfield, MA; 6. Norm Wrenn, Nashua, NH; 7. Mike Brightman, Acushnet, MA: 8. Chris Perley, Rowley, MA; 9. Greg Nanigian, Braintree, MA; 10. Chris Magee, Edgartown, MA.

 Late Model  (Top Ten) Feature Finish: BFR TAKES SPOTS 1 - 4:  1. Tommy O’Sullivan, Springfield, MA; 2. Ryan Posocco, Stafford, CT; 3. Woody Pitkat, Stafford, CT; 4. Corey Hutchings, Salem, CT; 5. Damon Tinio, Mendon, MA; 6. Mike Scorzelli, Malta, NY; 7. Jeremy Sadowski, Volutown, CT; 8. Mark Jenison, Warwick, RI; 9. Ryan Waterman, Danielson, CT; 10. Randy Tucker, Millis, MA.