Celebrating 25 years, 1995 - 2020

Scott Sundeen Takes Checkers at Ice Breaker

Wins Limited Late Model Feature

April 12, 2015

2015 Icebreaker - Limited Sportsman Sunday Feature
Thompson, CT

Nothing could stop returning champion Scott Sundeen from getting to victory lane in the Limited Sportsman feature. Sundeen held off Moose Douton in a green-white-checker finish to claim his first win of the season, and begin a bid for a series title repeat.
“I took them down into turn one and here I am,” said Sundeen from victory lane about the last restart.
Sundeen wasted no time driving to the front at the drop of the green flag with Corey Hutchings and Moose Douton battling it out for second behind him. Hutchings used the outside groove to hold off Douton, who soon had his hands full with Larry Barnett. Douton and Barnett drove by Hutchings and the top five – Sundeen, Douton, Barnett, Josh Wood, and Ryan Waterman – pulled away from the rest of the field.
Sundeen’s car was hooked up as he commanded the race leading a five-car freight train around the 5/8th’s mile oval. On lap 14, Waterman decided to drop down to the bottom and made a run for the fourth spot on Wood. Coming out of turn four, Waterman took the position and set his sights on Barnett, who was in third.
All eyes shifted back to Waterman, who now had to contend with Wood. Wood went low to challenge and made contact in turn three getting Waterman loose in the corner. The two collided coming out of turn four spun across the front stretch. Wood had extensive damage to his machine, but Waterman was able to continue on in the race.
Sundeen led the field into turn one with Douton on his bumper. Matt Lowinski-Loh challenged Douton, however, and took over the second position before the checkers flew for Sundeen.


Race statistics

LIMITED SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (TOP-10): 1. Scott Sundeen, Sutton, MA; 2. Matt Lowinski-Loh, Milford, MA; 3. Moose Douton, Waterford, CT; 4. Larry Barnett, Moosup, CT; 5. Dwayne Door, Waterford, CT; 6. Mike Malbaurn, Sterling, CT; 7. Jack Aquilina, Oakdale, CT; 8. Tommy Shea, New London, CT; 9. Mike Palin, Dudley, MA; 10. Brandon Fisher, Plainfield, CT.

For more information: visit thompsonspeedway.comhttp://www.thompsonspeedway.com/nascar-racing/results?division=188

Posted: to Racing News on Tue, Apr 14, 2015
Updated: Tue, Apr 14, 2015