Celebrating 25 years, 1995 - 2020

Ryan Waterman Scores 5th Win of Season in BFR Chassis Street Stock

Takes Checkers in Exciting Come-From-Behind Win at Waterford Speedbowl

Fast Five Series Race #3 In The Books

WATERFORD — Todd Owen led the most laps in Saturday’s Fast 5 SK Modified feature. Tim Jordan, however, led the important ones.

He took the lead from Owen with 18 laps remaining on a restart and held off a furious Owen charge on the final laps to win by 0.138 in a 50-lap feature that honored two racing legends, George Summers and Rick Summers.

Jordan’s come-from-behind effort, his fourth win of the season, was just one of the highlights of Saturday’s action at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl.

In other action, R.J. Marcotte won the third annual Bubby Brouwer Memorial 49-lap SK Lite Modified feature. Ryan Morgan took the lead when front-runners Jason Palmer and Ray Christian got involved in a skirmish to grab his first Late Model win of the season.

Ryan Waterman staged a come-from-behind effort to grab his fifth Street Stock win of the year.

John O’Sullivan held off a late charge by Brody Monahan to lock up his seventh Legends win of the season. In the X-Car Fall Shootout Series, Sam Mesick finished second on the track, but was moved into the winner’s circle when first-place finisher Christian Herman was disqualified.

Jordan started the non-points Fast 5 feature in 12th out of the 26 car field but patiently bobbed and weaved his way through the field while Owen was carving open a substantial lead.

With 20 laps remaining, however, the race was slowed down by a rash of caution flags which worked to Jordan’s advantage. He worked his way to second along side Owen and then blurred past him when he started on the outside on a lap 32 restart. The caution came out immediately after Jordan’s dazzling move, but Jordan smoked past Owen again on the ensuing restart.

‘If there’s anyone I would like to race against, it’s Todd Owen,” Jordan said. “He’s old school. I almost threw the race away on one of those restarts, but I was able to hang in there. This was just a great race.”

It also was a great payday, worth $4,100 for Jordan.

“I guess I just led the wrong laps,” said Owen, who heads into the final points race of the season on Oct. 2 with a 9-point lead over Cory DiMatteo.

Marcotte added to his spectacular rookie season by taking the lead from Corey Caddick on the eighth lap and keeping in front of second-place finisher Jason Chapman the rest of the way. Marcotte has nailed down four wins.

“I just had an awesome car,” Marcotte said.

“RJ and I had the two best cars in the race, and maybe if there was a late caution, I would have had something for him,” Chapman said.

Morgan was in third place with eight laps remaining in the 30-lap Late Model feature when Christian and Palmer, who were running first and second at the time, made contact, sending Christian to the infield. Palmer was penalized for rough riding, giving the lead to Morgan, who maintained it the rest of the way.

Christian blistered his way through the field to finish second with Charlie Rose third and Palmer fourth. Christian leads Palmer by four points in the standings.

“I saw Christian and Palmer beating and banging each other, and I just wanted for something to happen,” Morgan said. “I would have liked to race with those two guys, but I’ll take a win any way I can get it.”

It was Morgan’s first win in only his third Speedbowl appearance this season.

Waterman found a way around Jon Porter late in the race to take the win and pull to within seven points of Doug Curry for the track championship.

“I just tried to save my equipment,” Waterman said. “That was about it.”

He had enough firepower to top Porter by 0.756. Porter held on for second and Al Stone was third.

O’Sullivan moved past Scott Limkemann early in the Legends feature to secure the win and expand his point lead. Monahan made an attack on Sullivan with about five laps to go but fell short.

“Brody did a good job, but sometimes I concentrate more on my rear-view mirror than what’s in front of me and I lose focus,” O’Sullivan said.

Herman dominated the X-Car feature on the track, but didn’t pass post-race inspection, giving the win to Mesick with Chuck McDonald second. T.J Racicot also was disqualified.

Action continues at the Speedbowl Saturday with the Legends Fall Classic, featuring a 35-lap Legends race, the Late Models, Mini Stocks, Street Stocks, two Super-X Car features, the Bandoleros, the Speedbowl Trucks and Round 4 of the Compact Enduros.

50-lap SK Modified Fast 5: 1. Timmy Jordan, Plainfield; 2. Todd Owen, Somers; 3. Rob Janovic Jr, Waterford; 5. Matt Galko, Meridan; 5. Anthony Flannery, East Hampton; 6. Joe Gada, Uncasville; 7. Adam Gada, Bozrah; 8. Dennis Gada, Salem; 9. Keith Rocco, Berlin; 10. Matt Swanson, Acton, Mass.; 11. Andrew Molleur, Shelton; 12. Glenn Pressel III, Bozrah; 13. Jeff Malave, Manchester; 14. Jonathan Puleo, Branford,; 15. Bill Anderson, Wolcott; 16. John Bercham, West Greenwich, RI; 17. Rick Williams, East Hampton; 18. Wendell Dailey, Gales Ferry; 19. Paul Buzel, Trumbull; 20. Ed Flemke Jr, Southington; 21. Jacob Perry, Pawkatuck; 22. Dennis Charette, Southington; 23. Jeff Fialkovich, Shelton; 24. Dylan Izzo, Monroe,; 25. Chase Cook, Norwich; 26. Cory DiMatteo, Farmington.

49-lap SK Lite Bubby Brouwer Memorial: 1. RJ Marcotte, Millville, Mass.; 2. Jason Chapman, Ellington; 3. Bill Anderson, Wolcott; 4. Brian Sullivan, Tolland; 5. Anthony Bello, Newtown; 6. Paul Charette, Woodstock; 7. Corey Caddick, Richmond, RI; 8. Wayne Burroughs, Oakdale; 9. Ethan Durocher, Canterbury; 10. John O’Sullivan III, Salem; 11. Tom Abele Jr, Norwich; 12. Evan Bourgeois, East Haddam; 13. Tyler Alkas, Kensington; 14. Jonathan Puleo, Branford; 15. Michael McCarthy, North Oxford, Mass.; 16. Charlie McDougall, Naugatuck; 17. Nathan Pytko, Oxford, Mass.; 18. Tyler Barry. Griswold,; 19. Cole Kugler, Bradford, RI.

30-lap Late Models: 1. Ryan Morgan, North Franklin; 2. Raymond Christian, Uncasville; 3. Charlie Rose, Tiverton, RI; 4. Jason Palmer, Berlin; 5. Rich Staskowski, Hope Valley, RI; 6. Michael Benevides, Westerly, RI; 7. Jason Williams, Lisbon; 8. Tony Macrino, Waterford,; 9. Isaiah Newcomb, Plymouth, Mass.; 10. Keith Scalia, North Branford; 11. Derryck Anderson Jr., Plainfield.

25-lap Street Stocks: 1. Ryan Waterman, Danielson; 2. Jon Porter, East Lyme; 3. Al Stone III Durham; 4. Shawn Monahan, Waterford; 5. Douglas Curry, Groton; 6. Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin; 7. Christopher Douton, Niantic; 8. Eric Lutz, Miller Place, NY; 9. Aaron Plemons, Uncasville; 10. Tyler Trott, East Hartford; 11. Zach Meade, Putnam,; 12. Tyler Cinamella, Willimantic; 13. Ritt Shawn, Westerly, RI; 14. Michael DiFranco, West Warwick, RI; 15. Shawn Gaedeke, Groton; 16. Jason Chicolas, Sutton, Mass.; 17. Ronnie Oldham, Waterford’ 18. Timothy Poulin, Thompson; 19. Bo Norman, Clinton; 20. Ed Gertsch Jr, East Haven.

20-lap Legends: 1. John O’Sullivan III, Salem; 2. Brody Monahan, Waterford; 3. Scott Limkemann, Lebanon; 4. Joel Newcomb, Plymouth; 5. Scott Kinsman, Berlin; 6. Ron Miske, Shelton.

25-lap X-Cars: 1. 1 Sam Mesick, East Lyme; 2. Chuck McDonald, Groton,; 3. Eric Macy, Manchester; 4. Tim Burgess, Norwich; 5. Raymond Herman Sr., Groton; 6. Corey Caddick Richmond, RI; 7. Rick Mollo, Seymour; 8. Wade Robbins, Pawcatuck; 9. Cameron Liebal, Oakdale; 10. Grant Spaulding, Westerly, RI; 11. William Lauber, West Haven; 12. Christian Herman, North Branford; 13. TJ Racicot, Quaker Hill.