Celebrating 25 years, 1995 - 2020

Tim Wenzel Gets 1st Win of Season at Monadnock Speedway


WINCHESTER, N.H. – Matt Kimball and Brian Robie split a pair of NHSTRA Modified Quest For The Cup 35-lappers Saturday, June 12, at Monadnock Speedway, but it was the massive round-one wreck that fans will remember.

The Mod Squad took the green 25-cars strong. Matt Kimball led early, with defending Series champ Brian Robie then taking charge before pitting out of the lead on lap ten.

With Kimball, Todd Patnode, and Trevor Bleau racing under a blanket on lap 25, all hell broke loose. Patnode, with a nudge, broke loose out of turn two and shot across the track, triggering a 12-car pile-up. When the dust had settled eight cars were done for the night.

Kimball held strong the rest of the way, sailing under the checkers ahead of Tyler Leary and Cory Plummer to win round one. Patnode, able to pit for repairs, rocketed back to fourth, Cam Sontag in fifth while Robie was dead last in 25th. But he wasn’t throwing in the towel.

Scott MacMichael, aboard the Cirillo 7, set a fast pace for the first 11 laps of the nightcap, with Kimball – gunning for a twinbill sweep – then taking charge. Robie, though, was on a mission to salvage his night.

Strong-arming his way to the front – he’d lost his power steering on lap 15 - the Sunapee star blasted to the round-two victory. Geoff Rollins and Patnode – both victims of the first-35 big one – completed the top three. Cameron Sontag, quietly staying out of trouble all night, put together two top-fives.

Chase Curtis scored his first Late Model Sportsman feature win Saturday, coming from row four to take the lead on lap 19 and then hold off his dad, Chris Curtis, to top the night’s 25-lapper.

Cole Littlewood led the first seven go-rounds, then giving way to Austin Brehio, who stayed on the point until Curtis took charge. Brehio’s bronze finish enabled him to pull even with Cam Curtis atop the LMS points parade.

What a show the Street Stockers put on. Bumps, shoves, rubs and wobbles lap after lap, but never a caution.

Kenny Thompson led the first 17 circuits, with Tim Wenzel then taking over and bringing brother Nate with him. Holding the point the last eight laps, Wenzel was strong in scoring his first win of the season. Brother Nate and three-time 2021 winner Chris Buffone joined him in trophy row.

Fitzwilliam Flyer Gordon Farnum stormed to victory in the Mini Stock 25-lapper.
Taking the lead from Kevin Cormier on lap 19, Farnum padded his points lead with his fourth win of the summer. Cormier was strong in second, and Jeff Asselin came home third.

Fast Eddie Petruskevicious made easy work of winning the Young Guns feature for the second week in a row. Heat race winner Teagan Edson was the runner-up again, with Eddie Gomarlo strong in third.

Connor Souza appeared to have won the Exit One Realty Pro Truck Series 55-lapper, but series officials ruled that he’d jumped a late-race restart, awarding Saturday’s victory to Lucas Leone. Girard Giordano was second, and Randy Burr third.


Article Credit: Gary Dutton

Submitted By: Michelle Cloutier