Celebrating 25 years, 1995 - 2020

#44 Brian Chapin Wins Super Stock Feature At Monadnock Speedway

Gets 2nd Win of Season in BFR Chassis Car

June 9, 2011

Winchester, NH



Alexander in Victory Lane...Kirk Alexander left no room for doubt Saturday that he?s the man to beat in Monadnock Speedway?s potent Modified division. Debuting a new car, the Swanzey speedster was second in his heat race and then charged through the field in the 50-lap main event to score his third win of the season. Other winners on the July 9 card at New England?s fastest quarter-mile oval included Brian Chapin, who topped the 35-lap Super Stock feature, Eric Dejackome, winner of the Mini Stock main, and Young Gun Scott Betourney, who, like Chapin and Dejackome, earned his second victory lap of the summer. Ryan Rivet won for the first time this season, holding off Ed Lofland to win the Thunder Stock 30-lapper. Andy Lindemann made mincemeat of the New England Truck Series field, winning by half a lap, and Green Mountain pilot Bruce Carmen was victorious in the Atlantic Coast Antique Racers event.

In the Modified main, Nick Boivin led the 19-car field to the green, grabbing an immediate lead and then opening up breathing room between himself and his closest competitor as the rest of the field diced for position behind him.Boivin, bidding for his first win in the Tour Type Modified division ? he?s also a successful Sportsman Modified jockey ? would lead the first 29 circuits around the high banks. Further back, and gaining ground every lap, Alexander was on the charge. From his tenth starting position, he was quickly up to third in only five laps. By lap 16, he was in second, erasing Boivin?s big lead nine laps later before inching ahead to claim a lead he would never surrender on lap 30.Dave Berube would work his way past Frank Letoile and Boivin to grab second on lap 36, but could get no closer than four car lengths from Alexander, earning his first trophy of the season with a strong runner-up finish.

Jim Boniface, firing from the sixth row, would fight an ill-handling car all night before pulling into the third spot on lap 47. Letoile, strong from start to finish, matched his best outing of the summer in fourth, with Boivin rounding out the top five. Mark Smith led the Super Stocks to the green in their 35-lap feature and held the point for 21 laps until contact between his car and Bill Johnston?s sent him spinning in turn four. The restart saw Johnston at the point, with Brian Chapin and four-time winner John Lavoie both close behind. Lavoie, who?d started scratch on the field, was on a rail, sailing into fourth on lap 18, third when Smith went around, and second before the same lap was completed. He would take the lead with a bump-and-run move on lap 25, but then be dumped at the other end of the track, ending his quest for win number five. Chapin then inherited the point, turned up the afterburners, and never looking back as he sailed off to his second win of the summer. Dave Striebel, strong and steady all night, earned the runner-up hardware, with Lavoie again charging through the field to come home third. Jason Lafleur and Smith rounded out the top five.

Beth Adams? bid for five wins in a row never materialized. Second in her heat race, the Mini Stock ace fell to mechanical woes, unable to answer the bell for the night?s 25-lap feature.  Tim Leblanc took the opening lead, holding the point through lap three before coasting to a stop atop turn two with rear-end damage. Leblanc?s demise moved fellow rookie Joe Boivin to the point, but only briefly, as Joe Rogers then set the pace for two laps.Eric Dejackome was quick on the charge, rocketing to third on lap four and then taking the lead from Rogers two laps later. By lap eight, he was beginning to pull away from the field, and had opened a huge lead when action was again slowed by a caution on lap 15. Kimmy Rivet darted into second on lap 17, bringing Chris Davis with her, and while she was able to close ground on Dejackome, she would have to be content with second, ten lengths back. Davis was strong in third, with Rogers and Boivin rounding out the top five as the checkers waved.The win, Dejackome?s first since opening night, kept him atop the points parade, eight markers ahead of Davis

Scott Betourney led from green to checkers in the Young Guns 15-lapper, grabbing the point when Ryan Shaw grazed the wall on lap one and then never looking back. Second generation racer Chris Lawrence was strong all night to claim his first trophy in second, with JT Cloutier coming from the back of the pack for third.

In the 30-lap Thunder Stock feature, Ryan Rivet led all the way to notch his first victory of the summer. Ed Lofland filled Rivet?s rearview mirror the last five laps before settling for the runner-up hardware, with Seth Petalas nailing down the number three finish.


For more information, visit www.MonadnockSpeedway.com